National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate (NDSEG) Fellowship



Requirements and Description: 

Deadline: Anticipated 12/2018 ( Previous deadline 12/31/2017 )

As a means of increasing the number of U.S. citizens and nationals trained in science and engineering disciplines of military importance, the Department of Defense (DoD) offers the NDSEG fellowship. This is a highly competitive, portable fellowship that is awarded to students who intend to pursue a doctoral degree in one or more of fifteen supported disciplines. The fellowships provide up to four years of funding, and recipients do not incur any military or other service obligation.

Supported Disciplines:
NDSEG fellowships are awarded to applicants pursuing a doctoral degree in, or closely related to, an area of DoD interest within one of the following supported disciplines:

  • Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering
  • Biosciences (includes toxicology)
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Chemistry
  • Civil Engineering
  • Cognitive, Neural, and Behavioral Sciences
  • Computer and Computational Sciences
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Geosciences (includes terrain, water, and air)
  • Materials Science and Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Naval Architecture and Ocean Engineering (includes undersea systems)
  • Oceanography (includes ocean acoustics, remote sensing, and marine meteorology)
  • Physics (including optics)

Applicants should state in their applications how their research is relevant to a specific area of interest to DoD.  For ideas on the types of research that DoD supports, visit the following pages:


  • The NDSEG fellowship program is open only to applicants who are US citizens or nationals at the time of award. The term "nationals" refers to native residents of US territories such as Puerto Rico, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, US Virgin Islands and American Samoa.
  • Applicants' field of study must fit under one of the fifteen supported disciplines.
  • Applicants must be doctoral students at or near the beginning of their doctoral studies and must either be enrolled in their final year of undergraduate studies, or have completed less than two full-time years of graduate studies in the discipline in which they are applying.
  • Recipients must be enrolled full-time in a doctoral program at a U.S. institution.
  • Undergraduate recipients must start in the fall of the fellowship year.

Award amount:

  • $38,400 annual stipend.
  • Full tuition and required fees.
  • Medical insurance coverage offered through the institution, up to a total value of $1,500 per year.

Evaluation and Selection:
An evaluation panel in each discipline reviews all complete and eligible applications. Each application is evaluated by a panel whose expertise is in the science or engineering discipline of the applicant's proposed doctoral degree program. Applicant evaluation is based on the online application, academic transcripts, personal statement, proposed research statement, recommendations, and GRE scores. The top applications ranked by the evaluation panel are then forwarded to the Department of Defense for review. The DoD then selects applicants to receive fellowships based on an assessment of the applicants’ academic ability in fields of interest to the DoD.  Selection of awardees is made by the Army Research OfficeOffice of Naval Research and Air Force Office of Scientific Research.

c/o Solutions Through Innovative Technologies, Inc. 
Tel: (918) 583-9900


  • 2017: Joseph Chapman (Physics), Branden Kirchner (Aeronautical Engineering), and Corey Richards (Materials Science & Engineering).
  • 2016:  Daniel Bregante (Chemical Engineering), Megan Brooks (Materials Science & Engineering), Kristina Meier (Physics), and Sierra Young (Civil Engineering).
  • 2015:  Ahmed El-Kishky (Computer & Computational Sciences), Anthony Griffin (Materials Science & Engineering), Robyn Macdonald (Aeronautical/Astronautical Engineering), Halie Rando (Biosciences), and Curtis Wang (Electrical Engineering).
  • 2014:  James Christensen (Chemistry), Joseph DeGol (Computer & Computational Sciences), Alexander Hill (Physics), Landon Marston (Civil Engineering), Eric Mayhew (Mechanical Engineering), and Ian Robertson (Chemistry).
  • 2013:  Nicole Bohannon (Electrical Engineering), Thu Doan (Materials Science & Engineering), and Sarah Mousley (Mathematics).
  • 2012:  Neil Krueger (Materials Science & Engineering), Mark Messner (Civil Engineering), and Forrest Iandola (Computer & Computational Sciences).